SCENE | Scrappin’ Win

Last Sunday, I joined again the Scrapaholic’s World caravan, this time, at Robinson’s Metro East. The category I joined was “Crop that icon” with the theme of “Food Trip.” It was my second time to join, so I was really excited. The first time that I participated in the contest, I didn’t have an idea of how to make a presentable scrapbook page. But now, I came with the hope of winning not just in the raffle draws but in the scrapbooking contest too.

I arrived at the activity area around noon. At the receiving table, I saw a familiar face. She was the host at the last Scrapaholic’s event. She recognized me by giving out a smile. When I approached the table to register, she said “Mag-member ka na ka..” I just replied with a smile.

At that time, I still didn’t have any photos for my scrapbook. So I went to photoline and had some photos from my camera printed. While waiting for the photos to come out, I busied my self with working on the free scrapbook project which was a hanging photo-thingy. =))

The photos that I asked to be printed was the day my colleagues dined at Cafe Lidia at Marikina City. I thought it would be a good set of pictures since I took snapshots of the food that we ate as well. So I thought my theme was solid. All I had to do was come up with a design that follows the layout and I would have a fighting chance of winning the prize.

As the hostesses were reading the rules for the contest, I was pondering on how my scrapbook page would look like. I don’t want my scrapbook page this time to be half-heartedly finished. I want to make a page worthy of a fight.

When the host signaled us to start, I rushed to make my page. I cut. I tore. I drew. I glued. I wrote. And all this time, I was rushing. I could see people around me doing the same. Some were already standing just being in the moment. For me, I just want to make a good scrapbook page.

The hostess gave the 30 minute mark. I began to shake. I think it was just me being competitive. There’s so much to do. And the first 30 minutes flew by so fast.  I still haven’t pasted the materials together. The 10-min mark came and I still haven’t used all the materials provided. That was what I learned from joining last time. I should use all the materials given so that my page will have a good chance of winning.

I finished my scrapbook page just in time. The contest officials immediately took my page as soon as the hostess said the signal to stop. One by one I saw contest officials bringing the scrapbook pages in front for the judges to see. From where I was seating, I could see a number of great scrapbook pages. So I began to lose hope. Though I gave up on the idea of winning, I was still hoping to win some freebies from the raffle.

When the raffle was being done, I stood up and looked at the pages I was competing with. Seeing the other pages, I convinced my self that I wouldn’t win again. But  at the same time, I was a bit happy because my work was at par with theirs. It was just a matter of taste. Then I picked my favorites.

mine at the bottom right

The time for announcing the winner came. They first gave out prizes for the kid’s division. When they called out the winners, I was surprised that the winner in the event last time didn’t win. I then realized that winning an arts/crafts contest depends on the taste of the judges.

Then the hostess called out the 2nd runner-up winner for the adults division. At that point, I have accepted my loss. But shockingly, my name was called. 1st runner-up winner! Whoah! I gave out a shout of disbelief. I approached the stage with an ecstatic smile that I just cannot hide. Miss Carmela, the one who recognized me earlier, noticed my smile too. I just can’t hold it in. I was so happy. I never expected to win in a pool of creative minds and certified scrapbookers with their fancy tools and materials. All I had were markers, a glue stick and Ma’m AJ’s glue for all materials. Until I got down from the stage, I can’t remove my smile. I was just so shocked and happy.

What I learned in these experience were:

  • in scrapbooking, use all materials available and provided. don’t be cheap.
  • in contests like this, winners are chosen based on the taste and like of the judges. so there’s no need to be sad if you don’t win.
  • just pour your heart into your scrapbook page, and all will be fine. even though you don’t win, you’ll still be proud of your work.
  • tools are there to accentuate your work. but it’s your creativity that will help you win.

I’m no scrapbooking guru not even a certified scrapaholic. I’m just an scrapbooking-enthusiast who has learned tips for scrapbooking and in life.

Again, thanks to the judges, All About Scrapbooking, BIC, National Bookstore, Hallmark and Filstar Distributors, Inc.

Leave a comment